Upcoming Horror Movies (that look promising)

Well, I don’t know exactly if they are promising or wheether they will actually be any good, nevertheless, I will watch them.

Sequels and Remakes

If a movie is vaguely good we can expect a sequel.  If a movie is really good, we sure as hell can expect a remake sooner or later.  These are the upcoming Sequels and Remakes that I am going to see this year.  Hopefully they are good.  Considering the remakes of the past decade have been pretty darn decent for example, I was pleasantly surprised by how much I liked the revamping of TCM and Halloween.

Anyhoo….

Don’t be Afraid of the Dark (Aug. 26, 2011)

Remake of a 1973 movie of the same name.  The original is made for t.v.  So yeah, it’s slightly campy, but only slightly.  Pretty darn good for a made for t.v.  Pretty damn good considering it was filmed in two weeks.

The upcoming movie stars Katie Holmes and Guy Pierce.  Already, kinda iffy.  I am not the biggest Katie Holmes fan.  The original story has the main character, a young housewife Sally opening a closed off chimney and inadvertently letting demons loose.  And now they want her soul.  The new movie modernizes this by making Sally a younger girl, and the daughter instead of wife.  This young Sally makes more sense by today’s standards in my opinion.  Also, having more of a family fleshes out the original into a more promising story line(at least I hope so).  The original helpless young wife who just waited for hubby Alex to help her would not fly today.

Fright Night (Aug. 19, 2011)

The original 1985 version is one close to my heart.  I love it.  It’s kinda over-the-top ala Roddy McDowell’s character, an homage to Vincent Price.  But it was a good story and just an overall 80s movie.  

The new version:  Basically Charlie Brewster thinks his neighbor is a vampire.  Same as the original so far.  It’s got decent reviews. And Colin Farrell and Toni Collette are in it.

5nal Destination (Aug. 12, 2011)

First off, love the first two.  Second, it’s pretty annoying to continue to have sequels for movie entitled FINAL.  Oh well.  Pretty sure the premise is the same, Death is after a group of people who cheated him in a series of inventive, sometimes complicated deaths. Word is that it’s better than the 3rd in the series.  Expect the gruesome bar to be raised.

The Thing (Oct. 14, 2011)

The original 1982 version is in my opinion perfect as is.  So I am trying really hard not to go into this new movie with hard feelings.  Before anyone says anything, I am aware that this version is a remake of an even earlier version.  

So the good news is, this isn’t a remake, but a prequel.  But I can’t think of any really good prequels can you?  Big differences with this prequel, is that some ladies are actually in it, and well, the cast is younger.  I’m curious to see this.  Weird side note-should we call this The Thing 2011? It’s unusual that the 1982 and upcoming version have the same name.  Hopefully this lack of imagination isn’t any indication of what to expect from the movie.

Paranormal Activity 3 (who cares, really?)

This movie franchise can go to hell. I was bored to tears by the first and then subjected against my will to the second by a so-called friend.  I am pretty sure someone will sucker me into watching this one as well.  But really people why?  Why? How are you entertained?  Is it the night vision?  I don’t think I will ever get it.

Leave a Reply

