Trollhunter

Okay, so I’m a little late on the bandwagon on this one.  This particular gem actually came out in June.  And I started to watch it, only, I got distracted by, you know–life, and I just back to it this past week.  And wow!  There’s a movie I hadn’t realized I would like so much.  It could be potentially silly, could of  been ridiculous, could have been campy and laughable.  But it wasn’t.  I’ve never in my life, including childhood been scared of trolls.  The only thing I knew about trolls, is from childhood fairy tales about  The Three Billy Goats Gruff.  And the trolls in The Hobbit (one of my all-time faves, it’s the book that introduced me to the idea that trolls turn to stone in the daylight).   I have to say, though, this movie won’t scare you, it’s not horror, but it’s a damn good movie that you shouldn’t pass up.

This is Hans, Trollhunter Extraordinaire!

Okay, Synopsis:  There is a young camera crew (a trio) who are looking for this guy that, according to the bear hunters in the area, is poaching bears.  So the camera crew find him–his name’s Hans, and he’s all like, “Nope, I don’t poach bears, I’m a troll hunter.”  So the camera crew, who think this guy is either soft in the head or just joking, ask if they can come along and tape him whilst troll hunting.  And lo, and behold–there by trolls in that forest!  Once again, I gotta say, the troll could have cartoony or just stupid looking, but no, it’s a pretty decent looking troll with three heads, and Hans, trollhunter, gives him a dose of his truck mounted UV lights and the troll turns to stone.  And the camera crew is shocked and exhilarated-this guy is for real!  I mean, come on, anyone would be-if you just found out that a mythical creature exists and your government’s not only aware, but goes to great pains to hide the fact.

Check it out--Troll as big as a skyscraper and Hans is like, "I got this"...

Alright that enough spoilers–if you haven’t seen it, don’t wait like I did–it’s pretty darn good.  And I hope there will be a Trollhunter 2.  I just love random movies that bring some new element in, and just make it work.  This is one of them.  Now, I need to find some sort of troll books to bone up on my troll mythos.

Can't have a troll movie without a bridge scene

Leave a Reply

